LUNA Analog Facility

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) and the European Space Agency (ESA) are jointly establishing a fundamental facility for the preparation of future human and robotic missions to the Moon at the Cologne site. With its unique infrastructure and the seamless integration into the campus, LUNA will enable complex simulations for lunar surface activities of astronauts and robotic systems. LUNA will be an important and relevant building block within the international capabilities.

LUNA establishes an internationally distinct and visible competence centre for Moon activities as German-European contribution to the continued exploration of space.

News

Ramp test in the underground car park

Rovers that want to explore a crater. Astronauts who need to rehearse the rescue of a colleague on the surface: Being able to set a defined slope in the regolith hall is an important feature for the LUNA facility. What sounds trivial required some discussions, thoughts and conceptual work: The

Topping-out ceremony for LUNA

Topping-out ceremony for LUNA The shell of the lunar training and technology centre is complete and the hall is now roofed over – perfect occasion for the topping-out ceremony for LUNA on 26 January 2024. At the invitation of ESA, which is responsible for the construction of the building, construction

New LUNA visual? Yes please!

In time for the new year when LUNA will start operations, the LUNA key visual has been finished. It shall represent the unique facility in future. Over the course of several months, graphics designer Adriane Woito of the German Space Operations Centre has worked with the LUNA project management team

Moon dust in bags for Christmas

An astronaut centre aiming for the Moon should have some Moon dust in the garage: Last week, the first delivery of the Regolith simulant EAC-1A for LUNA arrived at the European Astronaut Centre in Cologne. A total of 10 tons of the basaltic dust is now sitting in so-called Big

Lunar water for drinking and rocket propellant

Water is by far the most versatile and most necessary resource for crewed space exploration. It is the most important raw material in life support systems and for rocket propellants manufactured using hydrogen. In the ‘Validation of Lunar Water Extraction and Purification Technologies for In-Situ Propellant and Consumables Production’ (LUWEX)

The first rover awaits its entry into LUNA

On 08.11.2023, the DLR Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC) has received the first rover for LUNA from NEUROSPACE GmbH (Berlin). After a short introduction and set-up of the necessary infrastructure, a first driving was successfully performed inside the MUSC building.

Newsletter

Logo DLR
Logo esa

LUNA Analog Facility

 Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und die Europäische Weltraumorganisation (ESA) errichten am Standort Köln-Porz mit LUNA eine wegweisende Anlage zur Vorbereitung künftiger astronautischer und robotischer Mondmissionen. Mit ihrer einzigartigen Ausstattung und der nahtlosen Integration in den Campus ermöglicht LUNA die Durchführung hochkomplexer Simulationen für astronautische und robotische Mondaktivitäten. Damit fügt LUNA den bestehenden weltweiten Kapazitäten einen entscheidenden Baustein hinzu.

LUNA schafft ein international sichtbares Kompetenzzentrum für Mondaktivitäten als deutsch-europäischen Beitrag für die weitere Erforschung des Weltraums.

News

Rampentest in der Tiefgarage

Rover, die einen Krater erkunden wollen. Astronauten, welche die Rettung eines Kollegen auf der Oberfläche proben müssen. Eine definierte Steigung in der Regolith-Halle einstellen zu können ist ein wichtiger Punkt für die LUNA-Anlage. Was trivial klingt, erforderte einige unkonventionelle Lösungen und Versuche, denn das sehr feine und scharfkantige Regolithsimulat, welches

Richtfest für LUNA

Das Technologiezentrum steht und die Halle ist nun überdacht – dies bot den Anlass, am 26. Januar 2024 das Richtfest für LUNA zu feiern. Auf Einladung der ESA, die für den Bau des Gebäudes verantwortlich ist, versammelten sich Bauarbeiter, Architekten, Vertreter des DLR-Objektmanagement, Projektleiter und -mitarbeiter, das LUNA Steering Board

Neues LUNA-Logo? Logo!

Pünktlich zu Beginn des Jahres, in dem die LUNA-Halle ihren Betrieb aufnehmen soll, konnte nun auch das Logo fertiggestellt werden, das zukünftig die einmalige Anlage repräsentieren soll. Über mehrere Monate hinweg hatte Grafikdesignerin Adriane Woito vom Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum mit dem LUNA-Projektmanagement und einem erweiterten Kreis an interessierten Projektmitarbeitern gearbeitet, um

Mondsand in Säcken kurz vor Weihnachten

Es ist sicher sehr passend für ein Astronautenzentrum mit Ambitionen Richtung Mond, diesen Mondsand im Keller zu haben: In der letzten Woche kam die erste Lieferung des Regolith Simulats EAC-1A für LUNA am EAC in Köln an. Insgesamt 10 Tonnen des feingemahlenen Basaltstaubs lagern nun in Säcken, den sogenannten Big

Newsletter